Feeding dogs for Christmas, Mary Cummins, Animal Advocates

Feeding cats, dogs and even humans in South Los Angeles on Christmas
by Mary Cummins on Friday, December 25, 2009 at 2:03pm
It’s a beautiful 70 degrees in Los Angeles today. Crystal blue sky, sunny and very little traffic. After giving my animals their Christmas gifts I dropped off some gifts to friends. Then I drove down to South Central Los Angeles to feed the street dogs. While I was packing my car full of dog treats I decided to grab some cat food and these bags of apples that I was going to juice. It wouldn’t be nice to discriminate on Christmas.
I took the most direct route to South Central via the freeways which put me in Watts. Here’s a pic of the Watts towers.
Watts Towers
I then went to find the dogs. I regret not taking anyone with me because it is impossible to drive, throw dog food and video tape. I only videotaped me feeding one dog but he was a very happy dog. It also is not wise to drive while videotaping in this area because people wouldn’t like it. I accidentally ended up throwing food to dogs in a drug and prostitution area in an industrial zone around Alameda and 95th St and got a lot of bad looks. 
I threw some dry cat food to some dirty, homeless cats around a warehouse. I would throw the food, they’d run away, then I’d drive off and they’d return and eat the food. 
Homeless cat in Los Angeles, California
I came across quite a few roving groups of dogs but again, I can’t drive and videotape. I would end up dumping food near them then I’d drive away then they’d go and eat it. The chihuahuas were the most difficult just like last time. They’d run up to the car and then get under the car. I had to dump a big pile 20 feet away to lure them away from my car so I could drive off and not run one over.
As I was driving down one street a big white pitbull stood in the middle of the street looking a little ominous. 
Buddy first time I saw him. He looked a little scary to me.
I threw some food at the dog and he started wagging his tail. Then I broke my rule and got out of my car to feed him. This dog is a little older, skinny, flea infested, has infected wounds, lots of scars, is missing an eye and his a weird growth on the base of his tail. I thought this dog must be homeless. I’ll take him home for Christmas. Here I am feeding him.
After I’d fed him three bags of treats a guy came out of an industrial building and asked me why I was feeding his dog. I said because he seemed hungry. Then he let go a tirade of obscenities which is when I realized he was drunk. I was about to offer him $20 for the dog when he threw a bottle at me. The bottle missed me but got my car. I hopped in my car and drove away with his dog running after me until the guy yelled at the dog. I should have just snatched the dog.
A couple of blocks from there I saw a thin looking older Hispanic couple. I offered them a bag of apples. I saw an older Hispanic woman walking and offered her some apples too. They all wished me Feliz Navidad.
Then I was pulled over by the cops. They asked me what I was doing there. I told them I was feeding the dogs. They told me I should leave. I told them I still had dog food left and would leave in a bit. Then they told me to leave the area. Perhaps they thought I was there to buy drugs or something. I drove home. At least I made a few animals and maybe some people a little bit happier today. 
Happy Holidays, everyone!

After I posted the above video everyone said I must go back and find him. I didn’t think I could afford his vet bill. My vet offered to vet him for free. Dr. Kenneth Jones Animal Hospital in Santa Monica, California. I went back and searched and searched for two hours. I could not find the dog. Finally I found the dog nine blocks from his original location. He was eating dirt, paper, trash and weeds. I picked him up and took him straight to my vet. Thanks, Dr. Jones! You saved his life.

Here is his story told by photos taken in chronological order
http://www.facebook.com/media/set/fbx/?set=a.121373117900565.8152.111645865539957

He has since found the best home in the world! He was adopted November 2010.

Buddy now has his own Facebook page with lots of adoring fans.
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Buddy-the-dog/111645865539957

Mary Cummins of Animal Advocates is a wildlife rehabilitator licensed by the California Department of Fish and Game. Mary Cummins is also a licensed real estate appraiser in Los Angeles, California.

About Mary Cummins Animal Advocates Real Estate Appraiser

Mary Cummins is President of Animal Advocates. She is licensed with the California Department of Fish & Game, USDA and the City of Los Angeles to rescue and rehabilitate wildlife. Cummins speaks to local community groups and students about respecting wildlife and humane wildlife control. She is also a Humane Nuisance Wildlife Control Operator. She has written manuals on small mammal rehabilitation besides numerous articles. She was born and raised in Southern California. She attended Beverly Hills Good Shepherd Catholic School and Beverly Hills High School. Besides being a member of Junior Mensa and on the Dean's list, she was a top ten national swimmer and competed on the men's water polo team. She began college at the age of 15 attending the University of Southern California on scholarship, majoring in Psychology/Sociology. After college Cummins became a licensed real estate agent specializing in income property in Los Angeles. She obtained her real estate appraisal license, real estate brokerage license and currently does real estate consulting, expert witness testimony and review appraisals at Cummins Real Estate Services.
This entry was posted in animal advocates, buddy, california, christmas, dr, jones, ken, kenneth, mary cummins, pitbull, rescue, santa monica, veterinarian, watts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

